2013 Emmys Winner List


Although ‘The Americans’ didn’t win any Emmys this year, the celebration of primetime TV was a huge success because of surprise winners this year.

‘Breaking Bad’ won the Outstanding Drama Series award for the first time. The show will be airing its final episode next week and it’s just exemplary that they go out with a bang. Anna Gunn also won Best Supporting Actress in a drama.

Neil Patrick Harris did a good job hosting the Emmys this year as the show had a lot of laughs, surprises, and excellent performances. The cast of ‘Modern Family’ were also in high energy as they won the Outstanding Comedy Series for the fourth conservative year.

Aside from ‘Breaking Bad’, ‘The Colbert Report’ also won against juggernaut ‘The Daily Show with Jon Stewart’ in the Outstanding Variety Series category. ‘The Colbert Report’ broke ‘The Daily Show’s’ 10 year consecutive winning streak. Stephen Colbert’s programme also won Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series.

Netflix won its first award for its original show ‘House of Cards’. David Fincher won the Directing for a Drama Series category for the Netflix show. This is the first award for a show not seen in network or in cable.

Derek Hough won the Outstanding Choreography award. This is also the first time that the Emmys gave an award made solely for choreographers.

Claire Danes won her 2nd consecutive Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama trophy for her show ‘Homeland’. Jim Parsons took home his 3rd Emmy for Outstanding Actor in a Comedy for his show ‘The Big Bang Theory’. ‘Veep’ had a good night because Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Tony Hale won Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy and Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy respectively.

Another surprise is Jeff Daniels who nabbed the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series trophy for his show ‘The Newsroom’.

The Emmy for Outstanding Reality Show went to NBC’s ‘The Voice’, while HBO’s ‘Behind the Candelabra’ won Outstanding Movie or Mini Series, Outstanding Lead Actor for Michael Douglas, and Outstanding Directing for Steven Soderbergh.

The other winners are:

Merritt Wever (Nurse Jackie on Showtime) for outstanding supporting actress in a comedy.

Tina Fey and Tracey Wigfield (30 Rock on NBC) for outstanding writing for a comedy.

Gail Mancuso (Modern Family on ABC) for directing a comedy.

Laura Linney (The Big C: Hereafter on Showtime) for outstanding lead actress in a miniseries or movie.

Henry Bromell (Homeland on Showtime) for outstanding writing for a drama.

Bobby Cannavale (Boardwalk Empire on HBO) for outstanding supporting actor in a drama.

Don Roy King (Saturday Night Live on NBC) for outstanding directing for a variety series.

Abi Morgan (The Hour on BBC America) for outstanding writing for a movie or miniseries or dramatic special.

James Cromwell (American Horror Story: Asylum on FX) for outstanding supporting actor in a miniseries or movie.

Ellen Burstyn (Political Animals on USA) for outstanding supporting actress in a miniseries or movie.

Winner list from www.emmys.com

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply